It’s all about the little things.

Five million things on my mind, and unable to place any of them into on coherent post, so I’m going with the piecemeal theme this morning.

First, I need to say I’ve been totally consumed with vampires, thanks to the combination of my new favorite show True Blood on HBO and the Tweeple’s suggestion I read the latest hot novel, Twilight. Finding it in the Young Readers section at the bookstore left me a leettle worried and wondering just WHO you people are. I almost passed. I was skeptical at first, but ultimately, I trust the Doogs, because I do know you’re a bunch of smart cookies, and gotta say … lovin’ it so far.

Now I want a vampire lover. (Methinks I smell a post brewin’ …)

And since I got nothin’, I’ll leave you with these little time capsule nuggets.

Notable Moments in Pie Town Last Week

Dropping MP off at preschool, she looks up at me, and holding her stomach says, “My tummy hurts.”

A four-year-old classmate, sitting nearby, looks up at me, and holding his crotch says, “My balls hurt.”

MP stripped nekkid and on her way to the bath, catches a glimpse of herself in the bathroom’s full-size mirror, stops, poses and says admiringly,

“Humina, humina, hhhumina.”

MP speeding down the front walk on her pink and purple HotWheel.

ME: (yelling from the front step) Be careful, crazy driver!

MP: (screeching to a halt in front of me) You don’t need a license to drrrive a sandwich.

Aw. My little Spongebob.

16 Comments

Filed under Bits and Pieces

16 responses to “It’s all about the little things.

  1. I don’t know why I crack up when I hear little four year old say ‘penis’ or ‘balls’ But I do

  2. Any Mouse

    Vampires….*purrrrr* Yeah, I’m right there with ya on the Twighlight series. But then again, vampires…*purrrrrrrr*

  3. Oh god, snorted coffee through the nose at “My balls hurt.”

    Yes, Twilight. The devil books. You want to hate them but you just CAN’T. They exert some sort of supernatural vampire hold over you that forces you to return to the book aisle at Target over and over again looking for the sequels. And then read them immediately, neglecting your children, husband and house.

    Maybe that’s just me.

  4. Finn

    My 4 yr old said this weekend “Mom, you know down by your private part, you know those balls down there? (squeezing them as he is talking). They hurt when you do that.” So now I am laughing and my 8 year old is laughing and, well, there you have it.

    I am soooooo outnumbered!

  5. insane mama, blissfully, Finn — I think that’s the first time I heard “balls” out of a kid’s mouth. I just looked at him and was all, “Ow …” Rendered speechless by a four-year-old.

  6. True Blood resembles Heroes at first glance (just rented the first episode from Blockbuster), though it still feels mostly original… for some reason this show makes me want to eat Cajun food and drink cheap beer

  7. Kristin

    Those are great :) I have a bunch written down too for a post sometime. Kids are so honest. :)

  8. Humina, humina, hhhumina….that is priceless!!! MP sounds like quite the character!

  9. This is why I was never any good at the dating game. I’m terrible at confrontation. I’d just avoid him, not take his calls, and when he showed up on my doorstep to see what was wrong, I’d send my mom out to tell him I didn’t want to see him anymore.

    Wait – that’s what I did in high school.

    And yet, sadly, STILL probably how I’d handle it.

  10. (Bright side, though? If he reads your blog he already knows! Problem solved!)

    GOD I love blogging.

  11. Ah, yes. The Spongebob. My little one runs down the street with his hands down, elbows up chanting, “I’m ready! Promotion! I’m ready! Promotion!” And as for the vampires? You couldn’t take them anywhere, they’d twinkle*!

  12. the “balls” quote will keep me going all week. god bless ya’

  13. MP needs to be on that Bill Cosby Show, “Kids say the darndest things…” Let me know when they book her.

  14. Just wait until she pops out with, “Florida is America’s WANG!”

    . . . oh yes she did . . . it’s only cute until someone (MOMMY) gets hurt . . .

    ; )

  15. A girl with confidence and a good self image. Gotta love it!

Leave a Reply

