Dog, Unexpected.

We now have a dog.

Which I nearly just forgot.

But then I got a tiny little whiff of puppy smell and remembered the black and white ball of fluff lying on the carpet just below my feet. As I write this, our new family member has been with us just over 24 hours and I’m EXHAUSTED.

Poppy surprised us with the tiny 12-week-old bundle of fur when we stopped by after work Thursday. A Shih-Tzu. Precisely the kind of dog I would NEVER choose. I don’t even know if that’s how you spell it.

She’s a Foo-Foo Grandma Lap Dog. Walking cotton candy. But she’s “hypoallergenic,” doesn’t shed, and MP’s in love with the wet-nosed new addition. And she IS incredibly sweet …

I’ll post some pics this weekend and let you know how it’s going. I’m barely functioning as I type this, and SO need to go to bed, but I feel like a new mother all over again — unsure when she needs to pee; stressin’ about the co-sleeping question, yadda yadda yadda. MP DID name her today, though. Rose. Rosie.

A dog. Wow.

13 Comments

Filed under A Little Piece of My Heart

13 responses to “Dog, Unexpected.

  1. Awwww! Congratulations! YAY!

  2. Not a dog lover, so i’m sad for you, but if MP loves her, ugh the heartstrings being pulled!!! Good luck.

  3. Erin

    Cool! I’m looking forward to all the poop stories…

  4. They are great dogs!! I have my rosie and she is the best. They are great with kids .

    Good luck

    #1

  5. i am soooo happy for you that you have entered the world of dog ownership. i LOVE dogs!

    btw, i totally wouldn’t have chosen a shit-zoo either, but if she’s hypoallergenic, that makes it worth it i guess. :)

  6. Awwwww. So cute. I had a Rosie once. You will be in love with her by the end of the weekend;)

  7. At least you got her as a puppy so whatever issues she has later on you can only blame on yourself. Yes I am a bit jaded as our rescue dog is still mental. Enjoy your Rosie Fluff!

  8. Awww, those dogs are so cute. But I understand why you are tired – puppies are just like children.

  9. Congrats on your new addition!

  10. AW, A Puppy! I like puppy’s and I am sure that fluffball is simply irresistible.

  11. I think you should have given us advance notice to host a dog shower. I’m sending No Doz and Javazz (chocolate covered coffee beans).

  12. Yayyyy! New doggies mean inevitable blog fodder! Although, must be honest, am a bit sad you didn’t get a goldendoodle! *lol*

    Looking forward to pics.

  13. Am sympathizing. Do. Not. Want. Tiny. Doglet. But that’s all the girls ask for. After the new year, time to revisit the dog issue. But I’m thinking golden (lab, retriever, grahams).

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

