Psychic Morning at The Pie House

MP was standing by my bedside. She was up early making wallets.

Well, not REAL wallets. Little folded pieces of paper. There she was, going on and on, excitedly telling me all about them, how many she’d made, asking me to help her with the scotch tape, and telling me I could color them with her when I woke up.

And there I was, murmuring into my pillow, “yeah,” “uh-huh,” “great,” “okay,” while simultaneously fading in and out of a dream state. Purely random hazy thoughts about coloring, drawing people, and how to draw different shades of skin tone floated around my head.

I wasn’t speaking.

“You can draw skin if you want, Mommy.”

My eyes flew open. There, at eye level, stood MP, smiling sweetly.

And READING MY MIND.

Which I swear, she does all the time.

But I suppose there’s really nothing odd about it at all. I know couples who do it on a regular basis, literally taking the words right out of the other’s mouth. It happened between MP’s dad and me ALL the time. When you’re that close to another person, it makes sense that the lines can blur. You become me and I become you.

The phenomenon that really fascinates me is the way couples who’ve been together for ages begin to look alike. Personally, I wouldn’t be too keen on the whole masculine morphing thing, but I have to admit, it is sweet.

People even take on the characteristics of their PETS, for Pete’s sake.

Oh Lord, I just flashed on my future.

Now, dressing alike …

… yeah, that’s a different story.

4 Comments

Filed under Piece of My Mind

4 responses to “Psychic Morning at The Pie House

  1. I’m not sure which of those pairs was funnier. I did wonder if I could get a picture of myself and my dog to look that much alike. I doubt it, but it would be fun to try…

  2. wow. i think i’d take the fact that you have this telepathy thing going on as a sign that you’re a real plugged-in mom. and that’s a good thing.

    i’ve seen that second photo before. sears catalog?

  3. Jen

    That’s why I won’t get a dog! 😉

  4. I’m not into dressing alike at all, but I’m sure it can be done without looking like a total pair of dipsh*ts.

    Kids can really freak you out sometimes, huh?

Leave a Reply

