I know it was just Easter, and I should try to lay off the coveting, but I can’t.

Covet, covet, covet.


Because it’s the camera Moosh in Indy uses, and her photos are beautiful. San Diego Momma takes some gorgeous photos of her kids though too. I should probably comparison shop.

Not Yet Revealed Mommypie Fact: I have a degree in film, believe it or not (the moving kind). And I used to be so into the whole hands-on darkroom experience. It’s just been … awhile. Chika-chika old skool.

MP’s been coveting too.


For the past six months, every time we’ve gone through the checkout at WalMart, without fail, she picks up the little $2.99 camera and my future thespian — master of the doggie-in-the-window-I’m-so-cute-you-want-to-take-me-home- don’t-you expression — sweetly peers up at me and asks if she can have it. Every time I say no. It’s really sad. Because, in all honesty, I’m usually exhausted, chances are she has some other treat in the cart, and she doesn’t need it. Big Giant Buzzkill Mommy. So she was surprised and elated to find it in her basket Easter morning. I’m not all THAT bad.

As for my little treat, unfortunately, it’s gonna take more than a pitiful look to earn. I suppose I’ll wait for that economic stimulus check to arrive. And as much as it pains me to admit, I suppose I’ll do just what the government is telling me to do — spend it.

I know, the responsible thing would be to pay down some debt. And Lord knows I’m responsible.

I’m always responsible.


So, this time, I think I’m maybe entitled to take a pass on responsible, yes? This once?


Filed under Piecemeal

6 responses to “Coveting

  1. You don’t do well convincing me your not my long lost twin. Totally been thinking about buying a Canon when I get my tax returns, and my little girl got the same exact camera in her easter basket. :)

  2. sparklingmama

    my girls would love that camera! I’ll have to keep it in mind for when their birthdays roll around this summer :)

  3. Go forth and purchase. You deserve it.
    Heh. Did that work?

  4. Deb

    I bought mine last month (Nikon D40) and spent WAY more than I intended, especially given that I am less than amateur. BUT I look forward to learning it and it’s been a fun process.

    If it’s going to be one of those purchases that you get years of enjoyment out of, then I say do it (within reason!).

  5. I just found you this morning through Absolutely Bananas, and I can’t stop reading. I love this blog! Thanks for giving me something great to add to my blogroll.

    I had to comment on this post because I’ve spent the last three months doing research on a d-SLR camera and just bought the Sony A200 this weekend. For what it’s worth, lots of people have complained about the standard lens on the Canon not taking the best pics. The Nikon’s stabilization feature is in the lenses–same for Canon, I think–while in the Sony it’s in the body. This means new lenses (like a zoom, for example) are 3x more expensive than they are for Sony, since you have to pay for the stabilizer for every new lens. Blah, blah, blah… I could go on and on, and you don’t need me telling you what to do in my very first comment. :) The one thing I will suggest is that you check out which has a gazillion reviews of all things camera and digital all in one place. A great place to begin the comparison shopping. I hope you have fun spending that govt. check!! Can’t wait to see the pics that come from it…

  6. Thanks so much guys – I’m all about getting the best deals – I’ll definitely be doing some research!

    Oh, and Natasha – the similarities are downright spooky. Or as I like to say, smoooooky.

Leave a Reply

