Piece of Crap: Kandoo ‘Flushable’ Wipes

And this week’s craptastic award goes to … (drum role please)

KandooFlushable” Wipes (or any baby/toddler wipe that claims to be flushable, for that matter).

Seriously. Can it get more accurate than that?

Ankle deep into the potty training years, I thought these lovely little inventions were a Godsend. I’ve been happily flushing away for nearly two years now. (As MaggiePie is fond of saying … oh, silly woman.)

A few months ago, a sudden overwhelming stench and rapidly growing pool of filth — seeping, seemingly from the depths of Hell (located conveniently just outside my back door, btw) — propelled me to the yellow pages. Later that afternoon, I watched as my new sulphur spring exploded. Five hundred dollars and mounds of dirt later, I was told this was, in fact, not the handiwork of the Devil, but of … Kandoo.

“Do you have a young child in the house?”

Yeeesss …”

“Wipes.”

“Wipes??”

“Wipes.”

I watched in horror as my plumber surfaced with huge wads of what looked like dirty rags.

“But the package says they’re flushable!” (Silly, silly woman.)

“I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen this. I dig up at least one system per week that’s plugged with these things. It’s unbelievable.”

(Note to reader: Keep in mind, I live in a relatively small town, and one a week for one plumber is A LOT.)

“But the package says they’re FLUSHABLE.”

Anything’s technically flushable. Gravel is flushable. I can’t believe these things are still on the market.”

I’m sorry … WTF??!?


The long and short of it (according to my plumber) is, “flushable” does not necessarily mean biodegradable, although marketing efforts clearly lead the consumer to believe otherwise. Lesson learned.

After a little research, it seems this is happening all over the place – and not just in the U.S. Here’s some info I wish I would’ve had two years ago (these are just a few of the top Google links):

Motive Grounds
Mommysavers Forums
Amazon Reviews
Dooyoo
That Hideous Man

There’s almost nothing I hate more than to be made a fool of. All things considered, I pride myself on being a reasonably intelligent person, and I was duped. Yes, MommyPie’s more than a little pissed off. So, in appreciation, Kandoo, let me be the first to congratulate you on becoming the first product to earn my very personal Piece of Crap Award.

Stay tuned for more turds in the punchbowl, Gentle Reader …

13 Comments

Filed under Piece of Crap

13 responses to “Piece of Crap: Kandoo ‘Flushable’ Wipes

  1. Fairly Odd Mother

    Hi, I just read your comment to my “Kandoo” post—-wowee! I love your plumber’s comment “Gravel is flushable”! Geesh. That is truly awful and I sincerely hope that I will not be confronted with worse when they come to empty my septic system next spring. I feel like picketing my local supermarket to warm moms of these things!

  2. Buster

    Just spent $200 for a plumber to snake our drain & he pulled out a wad of these “flushable” Kandoo wipes. Just started potty training & it’s been a little over a week. Going to call Pampers & complain and demand they reimburse me the $200 or my next call will be the BBB.

  3. They are truly a nightmare and a gratuitous example of misleading advertising. It’s amazing that they can get away with it.

    When I blogged about the problem (Jan 2nd, to which you have kindly linked) we had been plagued with drainage problems for over a year. We gave up using Kandoo’s that day – and have had no subsequent recurrences of the problems whatsoever.

  4. Oh my. I’m sorry that I’m laughing at your misfortune, but your talent makes it unavoidable.

    “not the handiwork of the Devil, but of … Kandoo”

    On the floor, laughing.

    And…I’m so glad for the heads up on this! Emailing the other moms I know that use flushable wipes. How can these remain on the market?

    I smell class action…Wait, maybe that’s your backed up septic system.

  5. Souk

    thank you for your information – i’m about to start potty train my 2 years daughter – just bought kandoo wipes (2 large packs) – i know for sure i won’t let her use it and flush down the toilet – i’m going to let her use for something else

  6. Elaine

    Oh, yes, we also fell for the “flushable” label on potty wipes. My plumber kept shaking his head as we called him back time after time with clogs. We’ve banned the un-flushable wipes from the toilet, but he said we’ll have the same problem again in a few years. Apparently, teenaged boys like to get rid of gym socks that have been “soiled” in experimental mode, and flushing is the method of choice. Ugh!

  7. Jen F

    The same thing happened to me with the Kandoo wipes. We just paid the plumber $300.00 and he found wads of wipes.

  8. Greg

    Not familiar with “Kandoo”. But, I get BJ’s Wholesale Club flushable wipes. I’ve noticed the toilet that has received the most of these wipes is slow flushing. When my house was built (’92), the toilets were identical. I have 2 1/2 baths. And the other 2 flush as good as the day I bought my house. It goes without saying, I now am worried about the same situation.

  9. Hi there, I know the artist who wrote the music for the Kandoo campaign and we are South African citizens so this product is not available in our country! We are in the process of sorting out a whole lot of matters regarding copyright on the music but they are denying that this product and the music http://www.kidskandoo.com were used in any sort of media. If you want to get your own back for the blocked toilets and want to help us flush them out, then please let us know at info@soull.co.za if you have seen this advert on TV or any other form of broadcasting. Maybe we can all make this right? Cindy

  10. Flushable wipes are what keep plumbers in business. If you see a plumbers van in front of a toddle being potty trained house, you know the culprit is “flushable wipes”.

  11. TUC

    Sheesh, if only I had read this four years ago! Now at least I know what the problem is. I can’t believe I fell for the “flushable” line…

  12. Abask Mktg

    Can I please post this blog post (with full copyrights and links etc) to my blog? I am writing a post on cotton diapers right now and would love to have this in the same string.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

