The spy who loved me.

MP’s love of dress-up is well documented. Sometime in the final week of school, she decided she MUST dress as a spy.

She made a checklist and before bounding into bed, instructed me to find specific Spy Items for the outfit she had planned for the morning — emphasizing their utmost importance if she was to be believed as a true Secret Agent.

√ 1. A spy wears Dark Glasses.

√ 2. A spy carries an Umbrella.

√ 3. A spy only Wears Black.

√ 4. A spy wears a Floppy Hat.

The Secret Agent was a hit. Seems everyone wanted to play “Spies” at recess for days.

Later that week, Miss MP graduated from kindergarten. After assembling with her class at the front of the school gym, the group began singing the special song they had practiced diligently day and night.

Sung to the tune I’m a Little Teapot:

“I’m a little graduate

Aren’t you proud of me

I learned my numbers and my ABCs …

MP, however, covered her face and all that practicing hightailed it to the nearest exit.

The child. She is an enigma.

10 Comments

Filed under A Little Piece of My Heart, At Piece with Yourself

10 responses to “The spy who loved me.

  1. DawnA

    Luv the boots she’s wearing! You are lucky to have such an imaginative girl. And she had fun with it at school for the rest of the week. I see most creative under a yearbook photo in the future.

  2. The child, she is a VISIONARY. The trick is to hold onto that past age five. Something tells me she’s growing up in the right home to do just that. :)

  3. annie

    She is adorable! I love that she doesn’t hesitate to be exactly who she wants to be – even if that means completely different little people from day to day. You’re are definitely doing things right!

  4. Rick's Cafe

    Caught on film trying to hide the ‘graduation’ smile….or is that a ‘Mom’s taking another picture’ smile? :))

  5. Spies are far too cool to sing anything to the teapot song. MP clearly rocks!

  6. I love the kid with the blacked-out eyes sitting next to her. This whole post is very John LeCarre.

  7. I love those boots! She’s going to love reading Harriet The Spy and Encyclopedia Brown.

  8. She is a star. A star! TOTAL Harriet the Spy (like Mel said) if they ever make the movie.

  9. She IS Harriet the Spy. I loved that book as a kid. I wanted a notebook and actually went through a stint trying to emulate her. But your girl… she is IT!

  10. I was totally a spy when I was a little girl. I read Harriet the Spy, and then was Harriet. And then, not long after I was Harriet, they made the Nick movie with Rosie O’Donnell.

Leave a Reply

