These days, life’s a trip.

Last week, in a stroke of pure luck and amazing generosity on the part of Ning (the platform Swap Mamas is on), I was sent to the mega-conference, South By Southwest (SXSW) in Austin. If you haven’t heard of it (and I hadn’t until last month), it’s HUGE. Its focus is on the Interactive, Music and Film communities — I went for the Interactive part and what a FANTASTIC time.

[Yeah, I have no idea how that happened.]

I made some great contacts, met some people from the Blogosphere I’ve always wanted to meet, and came home with a crap ton of awesome swag. The t-shirts alone nearly put my bag over the 50 lbs limit on the return flight home. (Seriously.)

I heart this one.

I snagged this, literally HOURS after telling my travel companion, Wendy from wantareminder.com (check it out — it’s destined to be a super great resource for parents), I was going to make an I Heart Geeks shirt, because I’d never seen one, and well, I heart Geeks. Ahhh, serendipity.

This one, I’m not sure about.

Don’t know what the company does, but … apparently they won’t screw you. Which is either good or bad, depending.

And my fave.

Cheeky Monkey.

Oh yeah, another new thing I came home with?

Actually, I realize you can’t see it very well in this pic, but that little DOT on my nose? A nose ring. Truth is, I’ve wanted to pierce my nose for at least 20 years. And when Wendy dragged me to Dandyland, one of Austin’s finest tattoo shops, I threw caution to the wind and just did it. She came home with her third tattoo. I came home with a little bling and a whole lot of pain. (Yeah, they don’t pierce with a gun like in the olden days — it’s aaalll freehand, with a giant needle, Baybee. And hurts like a muther.)

So the jury’s still out … I’m told if I decide I don’t like it, I can take it out within the first few weeks and it won’t leave a mark. I really DO like it, but honestly, I don’t know if I can handle the maintenance, and the whole nose blowing hassle. But I DID it. After 20 years, I DID it!

I asked my piercer if I was being ridiculous, doing this at my age. He told me that just the night before he’d pierced the bellybutton of a 78-year-old woman, so no. I kinda love that.

So I came home with a lot, but sadly, missed a big event …

MP lost her second front tooth! (Did I mention she turned SIX a few weeks ago?!?) When she smiles her newly acquired gaping grin, my heart swells with love. All at once, she looks so grown up. And she has this happy little demon/goofy hillbilly thing going on.

I kinda love that too.

9 Comments

Filed under A Little Piece of My Heart

9 responses to “These days, life’s a trip.

  1. I think it is pretty obvious that the next time Ning sends you to something as fabulous as SXSW…you need an assistant. One to carry your bags, interpret t-shirts and get you some vodka while you are getting things pierced.

    Sure it will be hard to find just the right gal for the job. So I will just offer to do it for you. Because I CARE. And I heart geeks and first class too.
    :)

  2. The nose ring is cute! I’ve always toyed with the idea. Does it feel like you have a booger in your nose all the time though?

    My son is 7-1/2 and still hasn’t lost any teeth yet! But one of the top ones is really loose. Goodbye sweet baby smile.

  3. I think it’s cute. I felt the same getting a tattoo. But I love it and that’s all that matters. Enjoy it!

  4. “I don’t like pain. It hurts me.” Who said that — Daffy Duck? Well, whoever it was was right. But if not for the pain I’d get a tiny nose stud, too.

  5. You were in Austin and DID NOT LOOK ME UP? The hell?

  6. Funny…my girlfriend just pierced her nose this weekend, too.

    Looks like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing the t’s.

  7. THANK GOD you are back. Where you been? Momma misses you.

    Love the nose ring. Keep it. Unless boogers snag in it. Then? I don’t know. Up to you.

    And finally, Toots also turned 6 a few weeks ago!
    Are our kids soul sisters too?

    XO!

  8. Glad you got to go and enjoy yourself! First class? Awww yeah.

    Love the piercing. Need a close up.

  9. I love the nose ring!!!! I had one nearly 15 years ago and it lasted just under a year. I’m wishing I never would have gotten rid of it!

    Glad to hear you had an awesome time at SXSW! And the swag…oh the swag!!!

Leave a Reply

