Of kindergarten, superheros and apple bees.

Holy crap.

SHE LIVES.

It’s clear I’ve been one ginormous phlegmy snot ball of blog suckage. (Colorful AND literal, Mommypie.) It’s been nearly three weeks now of congested, sleep-deprived walking deadness, and I’m close to actually turning the old “turkey-baster up the nose” fantasy into reality.

Whatever. Don’t pretend you’ve never thought about it.

So, I’ve been absent in the blogosphere. Blame it on life. Starting a business. Relationship weirdness. Physical sickness. Sheer lack of time. The thing that REALLY bums me out though, is that I’ve failed to properly document the multitude of momentous happenings in the lightning fast life of MP these past six months.

Like reading her first book, cover to cover, all by herself. Green Eggs and Ham RULES.

The excitement of the first day of kindergarten.

And the day she came running into the house because she discovered this amazing sight.

BeesinApple10-09

That night it snowed, and the apples, along with the bees, froze.

Then, Halloween. Is it wrong that I nearly burst with pride, when, for the second year in a row, MP passed over the princess costumes in favor of superhero garb? Last year, Bat Girl. This year, Super Girl. Next year, Oprah? We don’t need no stinkin’ tiaras!

I even failed to get photos of the pumpkins. Which didn’t get carved until Nov. 1. Throwing a couple wigs on each one and calling it a day is apparently only funny for a few weeks.

And then there was the week she came down with the Swine Flu. Which, amazingly, thankfully, MP, my little Asthma-Baby, bounced back from in a matter of days.

And our fox. Who visited throughout the summer and fall, nearly every morning and every night like clockwork. Calm and completely devoid of fear, she’d sit under an apple tree and watch as we went about our business. (I love living here.)

Fox10-09

And, arguably, the biggest event of the past few months … MP losing her first tooth. I DID record the first one. Now, the second tooth is loose and primed for the Tooth Fairy’s second visit. I give it two weeks at the most.

It all goes so fast. Today, as I sorted through her outgrown clothes, I couldn’t help but feel the tiniest bit of sadness. Any worry I had about her childhood passing too quickly, however, all but vanished as I exited her room.

And saw a giant booger smeared on the hallway wall.

*sigh*

12 Comments

Filed under A Little Piece of My Heart

12 responses to “Of kindergarten, superheros and apple bees.

  1. Childhood does pass way too quickly! My baby just turned 25 and is a U.S. Marine who has been to Afghanistan and back. (That was a hard one!)

    The fox is BIG MAGIC, especially its trust in you. It’s a reflection of the safety of the environment you provide. :)

  2. Unemployed Coworker

    Umm, sorry. Kindergarten? Since when? Wow, I am out of touch. Speaking of, let’s get together before the holidays and get drunk. That’s what unemployed people do.

  3. bigskylifecoach

    I have TOTALLY missed your posts! Glad you are back entertaining us with the life of you and MP!
    um….and you may want to NOT rearrange MPs room for a while….in my experience the back of wall behind the beds are FULL of snot.
    You just gotta love that these little boogers produce such Big boogers, huh?

  4. Wow, we’ve missed a LOT! The fox is sooooo awesome. We had a family of them in our backyard for a while. They’d bound around chasing each other. So. Adorable.

    Welcome back!

  5. That bee photo is the coolest thing I’ve seen in a long time.

  6. Treasure every single minute. It. Flies. By.

  7. Sorry, full disclosure: the wall booger was mine.

    Welcome back! And if you’ve noticed? I just showed up here, too, skidding in sideways and leaving boogers on the walls.

  8. I just discovered your blog recently and really enjoy it.

    Glad you’re back blogging!

  9. This post hurt my heart a little. They grow up too fast. And you know what’s really funny is that just then I accidentally typed “They grow up too fat” and now I’ve completely lost my train of thought.

  10. T

    I love the pics! Isn’t it funny how we want them to grow up and stop making messes but at the same time we want time to slow down?

    Ah… motherhood. Great post and glad to know you’re all alive and well.

  11. So happy you are blogging again, I can’t even tell you.

Leave a Reply

