Mommypie in L.A. Day Two.

So, Day Two in LA. You already know Day One was loaded with quality celebrity sightings … How, you ask, can it get any better?

Oooh, my friends, get better it does.

The day began once again on the Sony Pictures Lot (Did those 10 words really just come out of MY mouth?) where we had another course covering multiple Sony products, including their Handycam HDR-CX100 camcorder (which, in addition to recording amazingly crisp images, fits in a small evening bag! And it’s red!) and their Cyber-shot DSC-TX1 — Sony’s very cool new point-and-shoot. My two favorite features? The super easy touch screen (think iPhone) and an amazing panoramic capability like you’ve never seen before. (I totally sound like the ShamWow Dude, but it’s all TRUE.) 

NotePassers

Here’s me with one of Sony’s new Alpha DSLRs. (That’s Digital Single Lens Reflex — highly coveted by bloggers.) We each had the use of one for three days and lemme tell you, giving that beautiful baby up at the end of the trip was HARD. Mommypie was very sad not to come home with one (hey, a girl can dream) — especially after such fantastic instruction by Photographer Me Ra Koh (LOVE her). It’ll take awhile, but I may have to save my pennies …

SonyMommypie

So back to the agenda. We knew that the following day we’d be attending the premiere of the animated children’s movie “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs.” (Get it? We’re moms?) As a special bonus, we learned that we’d also be sitting down with some of the actors and the directors for round-table interviews, which is where we went after lunch. (Again. Did that phrase really just come out of MY mouth?)

We talked to Bobb’e J. Thompson, who plays (er, voices?) Cal Deveraux, son of Earl Deveraux, voiced by Mr. T, who, in my opinion, stole the show. But more about that in the next post.

ChildTherapist

He was quite the entertainer.

We interviewed the directors, Phil Lord and Chris Miller, two self-described (and completely adorable) geeks. Phil totally reminded me of Cory Haim. Minus all the drugs. I could’ve eaten him with a spoon.

The interviews wouldn’t have been complete without the stars, Anna Faris (I have to admit, I had NO idea who she was, even AFTER meeting her), and Bill Hader. (Who I only knew as That Guy Who Plays Creepy Characters on SNL That Make Me Want To Wash With Lava.)

Sonymoms_group1

Anna was charming and smart and cute as a baby bunny. (Oh, and btw, I have since watched House Bunny and now see what all the fuss is about. Hilarious. ‘Sweet Balls’ is now officially my favorite expression.) Bill was flat out funny. And he strung words together like “fucking weird,” which I dug, because it was real. Honestly, they were all surprisingly real. The fact that they were outnumbered by nine mommy bloggers might have had something to do with it … we’re very maternal, you know.

And highly intimidating. Like sushi. Or chess.

I digress.

Other notable Second Day Moments? Sitting in the [very YOUNG] bar at The W in Westwood with my new BFF Karen Sugarpants later that night. The two old chicks in the corner Twittering? Yeah, that was us. I think I actually sent Phil Lord a Tweet that the Sony Moms wanted to eat him with a spoon. Or something.

The only thing better? That Beth Blecherman came down IN HER PAJAMAS to drink with us 15 minutes after we’d left.

We ROCK.

5 Comments

Filed under Sony Moms

5 responses to “Mommypie in L.A. Day Two.

  1. How did I miss the Note-passers photo?

    32 Third Graders is my favorite book. I think I’ve read it four times. Phillip Done is a H.S. friend of BlogHer co-founder Elisa Camahort, and we met while we were stuffing binders for the first BlogHer conference, in Elisa’s apartment in San Jose. I had no idea how awesome he was until later. You’ve got to get his latest book, Close Encounters of a Third Grade Kind!

    Oh – and – it took me four years to figure out that his name rhymes with phone, not fun, but he was too polite to correct me. : )

  2. ok, can I tell you how much I love you right now? Only because you’ve got this awesome “Meg Ryan” thing going where you’re like, You know…fuck looking nice for Bill Hader and the stars, I’m going WHITE T-SHIRT y’all. And don’t EVEN mention that I’m from the Big Sky. Don’t. That is about the coolest thing I’ve ever seen.

  3. You just get glitterier every damned day. And yes that’s a word. Shut up.

  4. Love this kind of post !
    thanks for sharing !

Leave a Reply

