Things I’ve learned about entrepreneurship.

I used to think there wasn’t enough time in the day BEFORE the launch of Swap Mamas.

Seriously. Smack me now.

In addition to the reality of no sleep (Which really isn’t THAT big of a deal. I haven’t slept in years. I’m a mom. And kind of a vampire.), there are a few things about being an entrepreneur I’ve learned these past few months. (And I say “entrepreneur” lightly, considering I have yet to turn a profit. Anyone wanna to buy an ad?)

• The roots will get thicker. And darker. I’m pretty sure my hair stylist thinks I’ve died. If you’re reading this Tawny, I’m still kickin’. Apparently something DID expire on top of my HEAD though. Yeesh.

• As much as it sucks, you still have to set the alarm. The consolation? Going to “the office” is SO MUCH NICER. Helluu jeans and t-shirt. Helluu baseball cap. (See above.) Helluu coffee shop and nice, friendly, buzzed people.

• I’m okay with generic cheese. And cheap toilet paper. And cutting back on the drive-thru tacos. Which … all kind of go together … Coincidence? I think not.

• Not having health insurance is a scary, scary thing. Period.

• The blog. She suffers. Which bites, because lately I have so much to write about — lesbian ponies, obscene celebrity mug shots … the melon, she’s seriously going to explode with randomness if I don’t start getting back to regular posting.

More than anything — and not to be cliche — I’ve learned life is a risk.

And that’s delicious.

(As much as it can be without drive-thru tacos.)

14 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

14 responses to “Things I’ve learned about entrepreneurship.

  1. Don’t you even worry about this for a minute. It has been so much fun watching you light the fire under Swap Mamas. And one day, I’m sure, it will start paying for those drive through tacos.

    Yes, I admit missing your stories a bit, and I can’t wait to hear about the lesbian ponies and other tales, but do what feels right to you right now. Give your melon a little rest. You have likely accomplished WAY more than you realize or give yourself credit for.

    Blog when you can. We’ll be here.

  2. What’s up with the lesbian ponies? Do tell.

    Hang in there, you’re doing great!

  3. I go to Marinello Hair school for a 9.95 cut. It’s kind of like a massage and haircut at the same time because it takes a whole hour. With multiple “students” stepping in to learn.

    Living on the cheap definitely invites humor into your life.

  4. Lesbian. Ponies. You have got to write about that one. :)

  5. Keep fighting the good fight…you will be rewarded in the end!

    Oh and please blog about the lesbian ponies. That is all.

  6. Good luck with your endeavors. Just remember, The road less traveled is best walked with comfy sneakers.

  7. Just think how boring things would be without risk! Kudos to you MommiePie! ;)

  8. another co-worker

    I think it’s nice that we both managed to make time for each other yesterday. Thanks.

  9. Nappy

    Just think, in another 10 years or so of doing business this way…you’ll be able to brag to all your 9-5 friends that sometimes you actually go to work in your PJs.

    But be prepared for their response, in the form of a tweet of course, that this island beach bar isn’t as well stocked as the they visited yesterday….a survey being undertaken while on their annual 3 week vacation to …… the islands.

    A fella’s really gots to like their PJs to miss out on that survey!

  10. I can completely relate. I am newly a WAHM too, trying to make a profit. It’s lots of work, but still better than a good day at the office. Good luck to you!

  11. Thanks Doogs! You guys are my late night crack.

    xoxox

  12. Every time I see a SwapMama’s e-mail in my box I wonder how much sleep you get. Hope it’s as exciting as it looks!

Leave a Reply

