Mommypie wants to give you a Valentine’s gift.

So there’s this writer. His name is Joshua Henkin. He wrote a book called Matrimony, and it’s receiving rave reviews.

Anyhoo, he contacted me a few months ago and asked if I’d like a copy of his book. I said sure. The title alone suggested content I know absolutely nothing about, and I figured what the hell — I’m always up for learning new things. We’ve gone back and forth via email two or three times since — admittedly, I was a bit of a slacker about cracking the book. I’ve been so wrapped up in The Boy and basking in the glow of giddy romance, it’s been hard to get much done these past weeks.

But I digress. Back to Josh. I must admit, I didn’t expect such accessibility and warmth from someone who’s written a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Not to mention a National Booksense Pick. AND a Borders Original Voices Selection. Here I was, little ole Mommypie, talking (well, the modern equivalent) to a REAL LIVE WRITER. That’s like a Bulls fan meeting Michael Jordan.

Then, I read this and find out just how accessible he REALLY is. Apparently, he’ll come to your house if you’re really, really nice. Maybe if you throw a little sugar on top, he’d even recite one of your favorite passages. I’m partial to this line:

“He watched the cigarette smoke, and the dust that flew up at the clapping of mittens, and he felt buoyed by it all.”

Love it.

AND, Not only is he a REAL LIVE WRITER, he’s a REAL LIVE WRITER who’s book garners praise like this:

“In the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates … a novel about love, hope, delusion, and the intricate ways in which time’s passage raises us up even as it grinds us down. It’s a beautiful book. Here’s to its brilliant future.”

–Michael Cunningham, Pulitzer-Prize-winning author of The Hours

THIS actually kind of pisses me off because before I even READ the quote, I was going to compare him to Yates. I was going to be all pseudo-intellectual-ly and so proud of myself for being able to intelligently connect the two.

An then there’s this quote:

“[A] charming novel … Henkin keeps you reading with original characters, witty dialogue and a view that marriage, for all its flaws, is worth the trouble.”

–Tom Fields-Meyer, People

Which, for me said it all.

So, since the author can tell you what the book’s about infinitely better than I can, here’s a short clip. After you watch it, leave a comment below, let me know your thoughts, and you’ll be entered to win your very own copy of Matrimony.

I’m betting the REAL LIVE WRITER will even autograph it.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Mommypie wants to give you a Valentine’s gift.

  1. My thoughts are as follows:

    Gimme, gimme, gimme!

    Love some free books. Especially when they look as good as this one.

  2. Lex

    Sounds like exactly the book I’d love to read… and possibly mirror my life just a little.

  3. Sounds like an interesting read! I’m currently reading Revolutionary Road and I think this book would juxtapose nicely with it.

  4. I llluurrrvvveee contemporary fiction. Top that with an approachable author and compelling character and you’ve got my dream book!

    (It must be said though… I’m not crazy about Pink Sweater Girl’s interview skillz. Maybe she’s having an ‘off’ day?)

  5. Oakland Mama

    Ooooh, I really liked the way the author talked about his book. I’m tempted to go buy it right now, but I’ll wait until after the give-away.

    Thanks MommyPie!

  6. I totally want this book.
    Because I have been married for 11 years I am very curious about the contents of a book titled “Matrimony” which I am the reigning expert. just ask my husband.

    AND I want him to recite my answering machine message too. K? Is that a problem?

    Okay then. I will take the signed book.

    Isn’t it nice of me to AGREE to win?
    I think so.
    After all, I am glamorous you know.

  7. Finn

    I met my husband at a mid-west liberal arts college in the late 1980s. Although neither of us are writers, the best class I took for my English major was a writing class. I need a new book. I would love this.

  8. This book sounds great. I am excited to be in the contest. I might just read it anyway!

  9. Hi, everyone. It’s me, Joshua Henkin, the writer of said book, and everything Mommypie says is true, especially that I’ll come to your home and talk to your book group. Well, that is, if your book group is driving distance from New York, where I live. If, on the other hand, you live in farflung parts of the country (in Montana, say!), well, then, I’ll have to come to your telephone or your computer or some other machine of yours. Good luck to all of you in the giveaway, and if you’re not one of the lucky winners, I hope you’ll go out and buy MATRIMONY and keep another writer off the streets….

  10. I’d love to win! I’ve posted this on Win A Book.

  11. Teresa W

    I’d like to be included, count me in!

  12. Tisa

    Sounds like a great read – please count me in! ~ :) Thanks!

  13. My thoughts: Everything that I’ve heard about this book tells me that it will be very good and well worth reading. Please count me in. Thanks!

  14. I’m so good at matrimony that I’ve embraced it twice.

  15. Nicole

    wow there are so many great reviews about this book all over the web! would love to win it!!

  16. The video wouldn’t load for me. It would give me a few seconds of sound every minute. I just don’t have that kind of patience, my friend!

    But based off of what YOU said, I can’t wait to read this book! It sounds like something most definitely worth devouring.

  17. Becky Grayson

    My thoughts? If I don’t win one of the copies generously being given away I will have to buy one to help keep him off the streets. LOL

    Thanks so much!

    dbkagrayson2002 at gmail dot com

  18. Debbie Deskin

    Please include me in your drawing. If I dont win – I will be forced to buy the book.
    Thanks
    Debbie
    Debdesk9@verizon.net

  19. I’m totally intrigued MP – winner the drawing or not, I’m reading this book. This year marks my 20th year in matrimony. Holy cow.

  20. Cheryl K

    I’d love to read this book – enter me in please

  21. Carlene

    Please include me in your drawing. This book sound like a great read.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    Willreadforever@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

