Gangsters, lumberjacks and yellow snow.

This …

mobilepart

is part of MP’s baby doll crib. Part of the mobile that connects to MP’s baby doll crib, to be exact. A girly thing.

Last night, MP emerged from her room, walked to the bathroom, and brandishing the pink plastic mobile part with both hands, looked at herself in the mirror.

“All right, let’s see what this baby can do.”
Snarly face. Machine gun sound.

Um, WHAT? (Trust me, it wasn’t easy to keep a straight face.)

“We don’t play guns, MP.”

“I’m not,” she says, still pointing her Tommy Gun at her reflection.

“Yes you are.”

And then, like the Master of Misdirection she is, MP began sawing the countertop.

“I was playing SAWS. This is a SAW. See?”

Okay, I know it’s more of a boy thing, and might sound a bit out of character for a four-year-old girl, but I gotta admit … I’m not really all that surprised.

This is the child who, earlier this week, as we were rushing into preschool purposefully spilled her lemonade from its sippy cup, leaving a yellow trail in the snow. Laughing to herself, and clearly VERY pleased with her effort, she noted that people were going to think it was pee.

“Heh heh.”

*sigh*

My daughter is Beavis.

12 Comments

Filed under At Piece with Yourself

12 responses to “Gangsters, lumberjacks and yellow snow.

  1. Surely you can’t be surprised. A self-proclaimed 11 year-old boy raising a 4 year-old girl is bound to yield these results.

    My 3 year-old, Crowbar, will slip a Nerf baseball bat down the back of his shirt and then walk around the house like a mercenary-for-hire. Every once in a while, he’ll brandish his “sword” and threaten his sisters with it.

    (Sniff, sniff) So… very.. proud.

  2. HAHA! That is hilarious! And I have to second Jess, you have said yourself that you are a pre-pubescent boy at heart….and that can only lead to your daughter playing with saws and making dog pee!

  3. At least you only have 1/2 of the moronic MTV duo. I’m pretty sure I have them both….

  4. What a tough girlie you have there. Love it!

    And bravo for teaching her that playing “pretend guns” is a no-no…. but sawing and drilling on the other hand… she is so smart!

  5. Andi

    Awesome! I can sympathize, because Lauren is currently totally into farts and burps, which her classy father told her are hilarious! Sigh.

  6. OK seriously, I started laughing outloud, as this post played out visually in my head, and then my husband came over to me and my computer, “What, what is so funny?” He is worried he is missing out on something….he is! That’s funny!

  7. thetick

    If she’s Beevis, doesn’t that make you either: Butthead or … Cornholeyo?
    The better question is: did anyone actually fall for the “pee-pee” in the snow gag? I’m proud of MP! Very clever!

  8. When she graduates to . . .

    . . . waiting for someone to come along and then EATING that yellow snow, with gusto, THEN she will have achieved the full 11-year-old boy status, just like Mom. It’s coming, Mom. : )

  9. That is priceless . . . she sounds like she could give my boys a run for their money.

  10. They say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree? *lol*

    That’s hilarious. So glad the Little Imp can’t read yet, because I can guarantee, she’d read this and follow suit!

  11. I went to my friend’s 3 year old birthday party for her daughter. She was wearing a princess dress, and running around the yard brandishing a water pistol while screaming ferociously. I don’t think there’s really a way to keep them from playing guns … no matter what their gender. Your daughter sounds totally hawt.

    I loved the pee story. Because I’m THAT mature. :-)

  12. She’s welcome at my table any time. I’m thinking about renaming my sons Beavis and Butthead, except that we don’t say “butt” in our family.

Leave a Reply

