Five bucks gets you this on a Sunday afternoon.

Apparently I’m the last person alive to hear about the Mentos/Pop science experiment. (Or Mentos/Soda, depending where you live.) I stumbled across instructions a few weeks ago on the Net — Grandparents.com has a pretty cool download, 100 FREE Things To Do With Your Grandkid, which not only includes this little experiment, but a ton of other great ideas to entertain kids. And I’m not just saying that — I printed out the whole thing and kept it for myself. For reals.

So, I see this tasty nugget, think it sounds like good Pie House fun, tell a few people about it, and discover I have, in fact, been living under a rock.

However … just in case I’m wrong, and there are a few of you out there who are just as out of it as I am, THIS is what I’m talkin’ about.

Good times.

12 Comments

Filed under Good Stuff

12 responses to “Five bucks gets you this on a Sunday afternoon.

  1. Mommypie, You are the coolest mommy I know.

  2. I was making the same sound you did as you dropped in the last candies….it was in stereo….that was AWESOME!!!!

  3. Apparently, I am the last rock dweller…b/c I’ve never heard of this until now.

    I am so off to buy the necessary ingredients for this little experiment…but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little worried. I’m Mrs. Magoo when it comes to logistics and doing anything, so I’ll probably have a bit old Mentos hole in my face this time tomorrow,

  4. Andi

    LOL… I screamed right along with you, too. I’m such a dork! Since today is a holiday and Lauren’s bored being at home already (it’s only noon), we’re going to run out and get some Mentos right now… Thanks!

  5. I jumped back, too, with the second one. Yes, I’ve seen this a lot. I have 3 boys and we used to watch Mythbusters 24/7. not to mention youTube stunts.

    You’re a fun mommy, though!

  6. Wow, I’ve never heard of that either, pretty cool! Kinda tells you a little bit about the ingredients in mentos and soda…..hmmm.

    She’s so cute! Love her pink wintery attire!

  7. Are you being serious? You really never heard about it before? WOW.

    My 10 yr old came home last week from school and was complaining about his science partner. And why? Well (and I quote) “he is lame mom. He even suggested we do the Mentos-soda thing as our experient for the fair! Talk about over done!”

    Sorry to break it to you. My 10 yr old must live on top of the rock you have been living under.
    :)

  8. Finn

    Never heard of this, and I have three boys! You need to get to the gym more so you can move your 40 yr old a** out of the way faster! Ha

    Will have to get this for the next time we have a “holiday.” I thought I was going to kill someone before 11 am today. When is summer????

  9. Did she call it “pop”? That is the cutest thing I’ve heard all day. As for the experiment, I’m doing everything in my power to keep 3 boys in the dark about this one.

  10. thetick

    And now you have to buy the book: How to be the coolest dad on the block. (Mom works too) Hundreds of good ideas just like this one!

  11. I have a feeling that your cold climate created a different outcome from what our warm climate would. Therefore, if I were to try this (heard of it but never seen it, welcome to my rock), I think I would lose at least one eye and have a 20-foot gusher. Oh yeah, I’m “Fear Factor” material.

  12. How many grandparents will do that with their grandkid and then have a literal heart attack as a result?

    Billy where is grandpa?
    He keeled over while were playing with “explosives”

Leave a Reply

