Sometimes I’m not sure who the four-year-old is.

MP: You’re weird, Mom.

ME: You’re weirder.

MP: You’re THIS weird. (stretching arms out)

ME: You’re THIS weird. (stretching arms out further)

MP: HOW weird?

ME: You’re weird all the way to the moon.

MP: You’re weird all the way to the North Pole.

ME: You’re weird all the way to another planet.

MP: You’re weird all the way to an ALIEN VACUUM. (jazz hands)

(pause)

(hysterical laughter)

Two hours later …

MP: Mommy I love you.

ME: I love you too, Sweetheart.

MP: How much do you love me?

ME: I love you all the way to the moon and back.

MP: I love YOU all the way to the planets.

ME: I love YOU all the way to the ALIEN VACUUM!!

(pause)

MP: Weirdypants.

15 Comments

Filed under Piecing it Together

15 responses to “Sometimes I’m not sure who the four-year-old is.

  1. Do I enter Alien Vacuum on the GPS or is that just something MP made up?

  2. Nappy

    Don’t know how your mother survived the 80′s without a blog to share all the crazy things you did as a child (under the thought – like mother, like daughter).

  3. This is hilarious. Weirdypants. What a great name. Perversely, I hope it sticks. :)

  4. Andi

    Oh I just *luuuvvv* MP – she’s absolutely the cutest thing in the world! Well, next to Lauren (but I have to say that because I’d be a sucky Mom if I didn’t!)

    I am making “Weirdypants” my WOTD (word of the day) and will christen everyone within earshot with that title. And then I will remember that I’m not 4 and will snap out of it.

  5. MP is adorable and you funny lady.

    i need to start writing down some of the shit that my darling 5yr old son says…

  6. Conversations with children are the most bestest (our word) thing ever.

    They are random…but can hit dead on before you know it…

    I love being a mommy!!!

    Happy New Year to you and Little Miss MP!!!

  7. threeboys1mommy – I have NO idea where it came from, but oh man, was it hilarious to watch the jazz hands.

    Nappy – Which is a bummer, because I’d love to know what I was like!

    QB – Word.

    MT & Andi – I think Weirdypants is my new fave word too. :)

    MOFM – The only reason I get all this stuff down is because I literally RUN to the laptop right after the conversations. Truly. Otherwise, there’d be no WAY I’d remember!

    Stephanie – They ARE the most bestest. Happy New Year to you too!

  8. Nappy

    Some how I picture you paddling around in Dr.Dentens. Perhaps even carrying around a Mrs.Beasley like a friend of ours did when she was little.

    But more than likely, you were busy making picture murals on freshly painted walls…maybe not.

    Why not have (grand)mother write a short comparison for all to read?

  9. Haha, that’s awesome! Happy New Year to you and your family!

  10. We say the moon and back stuff all the time too (hence the name of Moon and Back Studios). Except minus the weirdy pants part.

  11. That is precious. And weird.

  12. My 3 1/2 yr old says “I love you to Obama and back again.” I can’t imagine where he got that from.

  13. Moments like these make putting up with all the crap worth it. :)

  14. The Comedy Stylings of Mommy Pie and Her Little Tartlet.

    You two need to take this act on the road. : )

Leave a Reply

