My cup runneth over.

When I was young, before I was old enough to write, my mother helped me with a Lucky List. I dictated all the things I was thankful for and she wrote them down. Anytime I was feeling sorry for myself she read it to me. Later, when I was old enough to read it myself, I was told to do so at the first sign of a Pity Party.

This Thanksgiving, I’ll be passing down the tradition to MP. Next time she doesn’t get that toy at the grocery store — the one she inevitably REEEALLLY wants — she’ll have her own list to remind her how very fortunate she already is.

Thirty-six years later, I still have mine — a simple handwritten list on lined notebook paper, written in blue ballpoint.

It’s packed away, tucked in a shoe box stuffed with birthday cards and souvenirs, most assuredly buried among day camp crafts and Disneyland Mouse Ears. Among Nancy Drew Mysteries and headless Barbies.

It’s there somewhere. Relegated to the past. I no longer need that list to remember how very lucky I am.

I’m reminded every day.

mpswimgoggles08

8 Comments

Filed under A Little Piece of My Heart

8 responses to “My cup runneth over.

  1. novice101

    Happy Thanksgiving to you! Your mom is a wise lady.

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. So wise of Abraham Lincoln!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

    Sorry, that’s all I could muster!
    Great post!

  3. Nappy

    Lucky girl, to be able to appreciate what you have.
    Eat well today!

  4. Nice post, Mommypie, and a cute pic too. I’m grateful for stage-diving into the single parent blog crowd and, thankfully, I got caught! This has been a great year for me and, health issues aside, I’m happier than I’ve ever been.

    I’ve started my own list of things that make me happy over at Depot Dad. I’m glad to see that lists like this work for you and your readers too.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. 3limes

    When you look into those eyes, the eyes of our babes we realize we have a lot to be thankful for. Happy thanksgiving!

  6. Beautiful! Hope you had a great holiday.

  7. What a great idea! She is a doll baby! Happy Thanksgiving (belatedly).

Leave a Reply

