I think my redirect trumps ‘em all.

Yesterday, through the wellspring of information that is Twitter, I learned that John McCain owned the web site http://www.voteforthemilf.com. If you Twitter, you probably saw it too. Up until late yestereday afternoon, the URL DID redirect to McCain’s site. And then people were saying he DIDN’T own it. And after all the press, it mysteriously came down. If you’re interested, read this. She explains it in detail.

And then my co-worker, QB, told me that Obama owned www.votefortheblackguy.com. Go ahead. Click it. Goes right to Obama’s site.

Maybe they own the URLs, maybe they don’t. Thinking about it makes my brain swell.

Sometimes, out of sheer boredom, my college boyfriend and I would hang out late nights, drink a few beers, and make up phone sex phone numbers. I’d tell him, “dial 866-hot-dude” or “866-hor-ndog” or something stupid. (Sorry, if I tell you the really nasty ones, I’ll get all kinds of freak show traffic. I’m betting you can use your imagination.) We’d giggle like schoolkids and crack up when a woman with a sexy voice ALWAYS answered. It was a recording, of course, so we were never charged. Which meant we could keep it up FOREVER.

Good, clean fun.

Inspired, I tried http://www.votefortheoldguy.com. No luck.

I tried http://www.voteforthebrotha.com. Nada.

And I was sorely disappointed when http://www.voteformommypie.com didn’t redirect to the McCain/Palin site.

Which would be schweet.

18 Comments

Filed under Party Piece

18 responses to “I think my redirect trumps ‘em all.

  1. I can’t decide if this is hilarious or disturbing. Probably both. The MILF one is WAAAAAAY more disturbing than the “black guy” one, in my opinion — but that just may be because I hate the term MILF. Really hate it. With a deep and abiding hatred all out of proportion to its lack of consequence. Anyhoo….

    Also, your brother is funny, if a little bit cruel (to you, of course).

  2. and wheeeeeee!!!! I’m never first!

  3. Like I told you yesterday, that totally spazzes me out…weird.

  4. I would and will and should vote for you.

  5. hilarious.

    also, your boyfriend story of dialing 800 sex numbers made me remember how, back in the 90s (waaayyy back then) the number 800-EAT-SHIT was in service… can’t remember what the recording said, but i remember it being funny. i did a lot of drugs in the 90s…

  6. Okay, MOFM, I just dialed 1-800-EAT-SHIT and it’s a PHONE SEX NUMBER! Ewwww.

  7. I looked up the domain registration info on godaddy.com and whois.net

    The Obama claim doesn’t fit…

    Domain Name: VOTEFORTHEBLACKGUY.COM
    Registrant:
    Jonathan Spencer

    5121 BAKMAN AVE
    #209
    NORTH HOLLYWOOD, California 91601
    United States

    But the McCain one is less certain because the domain owner used a proxy service to buy it thus we can’t know for sure who owns it.

    Domain Name: VOTEFORTHEMILF.COM
    Registrant:
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.

    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States

  8. Veeeery interesting. The plot thickens …

  9. T

    Oh my goodness that’s funny. Something to think about the next time I have a drunken girls’ night out. Ya know, after the meat markets get boring…

  10. I was looking for http://www.dookies_R_us.com and it brought me here.

    Do you have any dookies?

  11. Dude, I got dookies up the wazoo. How ’bout I send you the Turd Smoker? You DID introduce me to the term …

  12. Okay, okay. I never said Obama OWNED votefortheblackguy.com, just that you could go there and it redirected you to Obama’s site. There. Record corrected. You’re very silly Mommypie.

  13. Whoops, my bad. It’s the telephone game. I am officially a Starter of Rumors.

  14. Probably it’s people being funny…or who think they’re being funny. I don’t know what the deal is, but poor taste regardless? Yeah, a little.

  15. As long as my site doesn’t redirecting to anything with an X in it .. I’ll be fine!

  16. Pingback: Screw the 5 friends limitation « I Thank My Mother

Leave a Reply

