Stupid choices and dumb luck.

Look at this little douche.

He’s SMILING. It’s after 3 a.m. Saturday morning. He’s just been in a major collision. He’s flipped his truck after allegedly making a left turn in front of an oncoming car. According to sources, he’s being charged with misdemeanor DUI. Misdemeanor, because his female passenger and the driver of the other car miraculously suffered only minor bumps and bruises. Because it wasn’t THAT bad.

And he’s SMILING.

Shia LaBeouf, I like you. But I swear to God, given the opportunity right now, I’d smack that grin right off your stupid ass face. Because you’re an idiot.

I know of what I speak. My father’s had two DUIs. One when I was a kid; the other when I was in high school. My brother’s had one. I was LIVID with each of them. SO incredibly pissed off.

I was hit by a drunk driver in college, as a friend and I drove to the movies. One minute things were fine, the next, the back seat of my ’76 Honda Civic no longer existed. Had the collision taken place a split second earlier, the outcome would have, most likely, been very different.

And yet, with all that history, I’m ashamed to admit, back in the day, I myself got behind the wheel WAY too many times when I absolutely shouldn’t have. I have a hard time thinking about what could have happened.

But now, as a mother, I imagine my MP riding shotgun beside a boy like Shia some day. Or worse, doing exactly as I did, driving a little loaded and not giving it a second thought. And I’m livid once more.

The outrage I feel when I look at that stupid smirking mug shot is multiplied by the recognition of my own youthful stupidity. Because if I’m being judgmental — and I am — understand that first and foremost, I’m judging my past self. I’m owning the idiocy. I’m admitting a complete and utter disregard for the safety of myself, or more importantly others, that could have so easily turned tragic.

I think of all the others that will make equally stupid choices and am compelled to pray for the safety of my child.

And I’m pissed.

Image borrowed from these guys.
38 Comments

Filed under Confessional

38 responses to “Stupid choices and dumb luck.

  1. yep.

    But I’m going to cut him just a little slack because I have no idea what it’s like to be a child-star growing up in Hollyweird. He probably thinkgs he’s invincible.
    Let’s just hope that he learns the lesson faster than most of them – and hurts no one else along the way. :(

  2. Definitely makes his star shine a little less brightly for me.

  3. Had that been you or I, driving and causing so much as a papercut to the other driver, or passenger, I can assure you the outcome would have been much more severe.

    My little sister was charged with a DUI two years ago. No one was injured, she just got pulled over for a routine traffic stop and the cop decided to have her pull a roadside sobriety test because my sis got mouthy.

    Obviously she failed. License suspended for one year. Mandatory alcohol education classes. Mandatory community service. Fine of $1500.00. And her insurance rates, because she now has an SR22 because of the DUI are THROUGH THE ROOF.

    She deserved every single thing she got and I think she should have done time. Yes she’s my little sister. Yes I love her more than anything, but I still think she got cut a lot of slack.

    No, I don’t think she’ll do it again. I would at least hope not, considering her two year old nephew, my son, was killed 18 years ago by a DRUNK, uninsured, unlicensed driver.

  4. Oh Auds, my heart broke for you before, but now, knowing the circumstances of your son’s death makes me cry. There are no words.

  5. I don’t think this is his first time for a dui , am I right?

    #1

  6. Ugh. I have no patience for that kind of BS.

  7. I am with you all the way on this one Sista! Accidents caused by drunk driving can easily be prevented so it is such a shame when they occur. I am always incensed when celebrities are able to receive “the get out jail” card when as far as I am concerned they are just as culpable as the average joe/jane. As a matter of fact they should be more responsible simply because being in the public eye people look at and imitate behavior.

    My primary concern are the young people that are so easily influenced by the media that think “Shia did it and got away with it, I can too.” I fear for the day that my son starts driving but I fear the people driving around him even more!

  8. Amen. I hold my breath every time my kids leave the house. And exhale when I hear them come back at night.

  9. In our town we just had an 18 year old girl drive drunk into a pole. She died, her friend is critical. My girls and I drive by that pole covered in flowers and teddy bears every day. I hope somehow it may make them think when they have that choice to make one day.

  10. The thing that scares me is that no matter how hard the message is pounded into them, too many kids (myself included) forget. I worry so much …

  11. bekkah

    My father was killed by a drunk driver when I was 4 years old. My first and only memory of him is watching the medics trying to remove him from the car. Now when I hear of people driving drunk, I can only hope that they end up killing just themselves and no one else. Harsh, I know, but I guess somewhat justified :\

  12. A close friend of mine and both of her daughters, ages 1 and 3, were killed instantly two years ago by a drunk who jumped the median and hit them head on. Her husband was behind them in his car (they were caravaning) and witnessed the whole thing. It was the most tragic thing I could have ever imagined happening, to anyone.

    I still cry when I think about it.

    I’ve never been able to bring myself to delete her name and number from my cell phone contacts. Not sure why, really, maybe it’s that deleting her would make it more real for me somehow, but really, after two years you would think I’d be there by now. Every time I come across it, I stop, and tear up, and then think about her poor husband, this broken man whose entire life has been destroyed, all because some stupid fucking “regular guy” had a few too many and didn’t have the sense to stay off the roads.

    I don’t care how young, famous, rich, good looking, smart or funny you are. There’s no excuse.

  13. bekkah — Not harsh. Totally understandable point of view, especially considering the horrible tragedy your family suffered. My daughter is growing up without a father — he passed away when she was two — and my heart goes out to you and that little four-year-old that remains.

    beje — How AWFUL. How infuriating. How utterly senseless. I’m so sorry my friend.

  14. I whole heartedly agree–with everything. I too was yound and stupi, and thank god I never hurt anyone. I feel like many celebrities feel invincible because they can hire whatever attorneys they want and get away with it. I think that the DUI punishments are way too forgiving.

  15. aliasmother

    Once, and only once, in my young and stupid days did I drive when I shouldn’t have. I felt fine when I got behind the wheel but halfway home I realized I most assuredly was not fine. I should have pulled over, but instead I drove the rest of the way like an 80-year-old woman. And cried when I got home because I was so grateful and ashamed.

    I get how sometimes it can happen. What I don’t get are those people who do not feel the shame.

  16. I’m amazed and I cringe when I think back on my life and some of the amazingly stupid things I’ve done.

    However, I’m not cutting him any slack and if I’d been caught I’d have hoped someone would have thrown the book at me.

    I can’t tell you how many cars my brother has totalled and he’s never had jail time. EVER

    He’s not famous, he’s just a silver tongued devil I suppose.

  17. I had an uncle AND a cousin killed by drunk drivers. Ironically enough, when my uncle was killed, he was WALKING home because he was intoxicated. My cousin was a police officer, and was heading home on New Year’s Eve after working a road check – he was only 23 years old.

  18. BHE — I’m so sorry. I’m literally in shock at the number of people JUST IN THIS COMMENT SECTION ALONE who have lost a loved one at the hands of a drunk driver. Sickening.

  19. Put me in line to slap him silly.

    I’m sorry for all the lives lost, I vow to NEVER drive with under any influence.

  20. I’m so sorry to hear about how many of us have lost someone due to a DD’s carelessness and utter disregard.
    I hope being famous doesn’t get Shia a pass, and I hope his mom smacks him upside the head but good. I saw her appear with him back when he was in Holes. I think she’ll have a few choice words about this.

  21. I hear you…great post. Can I smack him too?

  22. It’s amazing, isn’t it, how many lives have been touched by this? Kind of makes me want to throw up a little.

  23. Brasil just adopted a zero tolerance law- automatic license supspension for a year and a huge fine if you are found to have ANY alcohol in you while driving. Why we don’t have a zero tolerance law here in the States is beyond me. And why little shits like Shia LaBeouf get off so easily. Yes, this is his second DUI.

    I’m so sorry for all of the commenters who have lost a loved one because of a drunk driver. It’s just so senseless.

  24. How many more events like this will make him wake up? What will it take for him to realize that he’s been VERY lucky not to have killed someone or even himself?

    I got in the car with a friend one time, not realizing that the 2 martinis she downed rendered her completely useless. I was terrified and cursed my stupidity. That was more than 10 years ago but I still drive whenever we go out because I know I won’t be drinking. In college I was run off the road, driving through a canyon, by a drunk driver. I remember stupidly thinking that the person was having a heart attack and my first concern was his health. When he rolled out of the car and thew up, I was furious.

    Drinking and driving is a concept I just don’t understand.

  25. I liked him in Even Stevens. But it seems like since he has moved into the “big leagues” he has started acting like a moron. Didn’t he almost lose the IJ’s deal because of his big mouth? This is almost unforgivable. I just hope he doesn’t do anything else stupid.

  26. EXACTLY! What an asshat. I mean, really. Awesome post, so well put.

  27. Lauren

    Fortunately, I’ve never had anyone close to me die from a drunk driving accident. But I do know that Anna’s dad has a history of drunk driving. It’s like, because he’s from a small town and knows the streets like the back of his hand, he doesn’t see any danger in it.

    During one of our rare serious conversations a few months ago, he was telling me his fears about being a dad, and he said he’s afraid of hurting her. A specific example he used to illustrate this? He’s afraid he’ll do something stupid like drive drunk with her in the car. I swear to God, if I ever found out he did that, I would never let him be alone with his daughter for the rest of her life.

  28. Omigosh Lauren, I think I’d be afraid to let him alone with her NOW. That’s seriously scary.

  29. After years and years of drinking and driving, my dad got a DUI a few months ago. Motorists actually called 911 on him because he was swerving so much. He spent the day in jail (he’s 70) and was put through the wringer that day.

    I don’t think he’ll ever do it again and I’m just thankful he didn’t hurt or kill anybody. After all these years, I think he finally woke up.

  30. My dad had to spend a night in jail too. I had to drive him there to serve his time, and pick him up at the end of the next day. I was 16 and mortified.

    That was enough to finally teach him something.

  31. My son’s father was killed by a careless driver in 2002. In early 2006, I was divorced from my daughters’ dad, but we were still trying to see if we would be able to work it out. One night I got a call from him that he had been in an accident. A drunk, uninsured driver had ran a red light in his pickup and smashed into him. My son, who bumped heads with his stepdad a lot, was a flipping disaster the whole ride to the scene.

    When we got there, a friend who was riding shotgun with Bri told me how he had looked over at Brian, and saw his head jerk so hard that it was laying on top of the hood of the truck as it scraped down the side of the car. He said all he could think was how was he going to tell us that Bri was gone.

    It was a miracle that they walked away with only scrapes and bruises, and a pair of matching knots where their heads had smacked together. Brian had just spent about $500 to get that car on the road, and since we lived paycheck to paycheck around here then, he had only state minimum insurance. No comp or collision. Not even the tow was covered. And the other driver had no insurance, and nothing to go after.

    People just need to be responsible.

  32. Angel — I’m so sorry about your son’s father. And Brian’s story sends shivers. The drunk driver who hit me didn’t have insurance either. The police actually LET HIM WALK AWAY even though he reeked of booze and couldn’t recite the alphabet. Or stand up straight. I never heard from him again.

    Responsibility is sorely lacking all around.

  33. OMG, I can’t believe they let him walk away! Unbelievable! At least the guy who hit Brian got arrested.

    I have made mistakes in the past, too, so I hate to get all holier-than-thou on drunk drivers, but something just changed when I became a parent. Suddenly my life became a whole lot more important because of what I mean to my kids, and I got a lot more cautious and responsible, and I got a whole new respect for life, and for other people, because they had families, too. Holy run-on sentence, batman!

  34. Totally with you. Becoming a parent changes EVERYTHING.

  35. Oh Auds, my heart physically aches reading your comment as I have my two boys ages 3 and almost 5 sitting next to me, heads slumped on my shoulders.

    I lost two friends to drunk driving my first year in college. They were drunk and hit another woman head on, who lived, astounding as it sounds. I learned my lesson right there and then. I don’t tolerate drinking and driving one bit. Take some fucking responsibility, folks, and think about someone other than yourself. A buzz kill is the least of your worries.

  36. I agree with everything everyone said here, but I have to be a pro-Shia voice for just a split second here. This mug shot is old, from some drunken disorderly thing at a drug store I believe? It was a while back. This is not a mug shot from his most DUI. Hopefully he was remorseful and not smiling, and I’m going to give him the benefit of that doubt. There is a press account of the driver of the other vehicle telling Shia to leave the scene (other drive ran a red light apparently) and Shia saying, no, I need to stay and take responsibility.

    Could be all BS, but I do know the mug shot is old because I saw it on TMZ months ago.

Leave a Reply

